A Year Like This One

As you may have heard, we’ve had sub-arctic temperatures around Hotdish & Catfish-land these last few days. Waking up to -25 degrees sure does make one think about summertime. So, in an effort to cure my winter blues, I’ve been scouring the web for things to look forward to in the coming year. Thankfully, it hasn’t been a hard task; 2014 is shaping up to be a great year! Here’s to hoping this list will help you look forward to warmer times, too.

Art:

f_4591130_1Two things are on my radar: The Walker Art Center’s Claes Oldenburg exhibit, which has actually been around since the fall and  *gasp* it closes this Sunday! I’m already prepping for a busy weekend, but mark my words, I’m getting there! The second is a Minneapolis Institute of Arts exhibit opening on February 23rd: Matisse, featuring over 50 paintings and sculptures, and 30 prints. The perfect way to brighten a cold day!

Movies:

Some of my favorite books are becoming movies: The GiverGone GirlThe Fault in Our StarsMockingjay (Part 1) from the Hunger Games series. If any of these sound unfamiliar to you, get to your local bookstore ASAP!

Music:

Justin Timberlake is coming to town, and I AM GOING TO BE THERE SCREAMING LIKE A FANGIRL. Tickets are purchased, t-shirt ideas are being brainstormed. It’s going to be great.

Books:

12396528The year started off great with Kate DeCamillo, author of some truly incredible children’s and young adult books (and St. Paul resident!), being named Ambassador of Young People’s Literature by the Library of Congress. Check her books out – you’ll love them. In other news, one of the coolest stories I read in 2011 was Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. It has some of the spookiest illustrations (photographs, really) since the Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark series. And as everyone knows, those books are seriously creepy. Anyway, Miss Peregrine’s follow-up, Hollow City, comes out next week.

Theater:

Just last week, Tom, a friend of ours, and I ventured to the Brave New Workshop for their annual holiday sketch comedy show. Though this may seem counterintuitive to my thoughts of warm weather, I can’t wait to go back next December and see what that hilarious group of people thinks up! It was like watching a ‘best of’ Saturday Night Live performance – we couldn’t stop laughing!

Television:

One of my favorite shows is back (on February 14th no less): House of Cards. It took me a bit to get used to this intensely dark Netflix show, but by episode eight I was hooked and binge-watching like a pro. So, you know where you’ll find me on Valentine’s Day (sorry, Tom!).

74703_10151700760917710_1519563359_nGardening:

Last summer, I went on the Tangletown Gardens tour with my mom and her friend. It was incredibly inspiring to see how landscape designers work their magic on intimate backyards around the Twin Cities. The tour takes place every July. Last summer, temps dropped into the 50s and it drizzled all day. Now, in retrospect, that sounds like a heat wave. Can’t wait to see what’s in store this year!

New Breweries:

Just last month, the Twin Cities became home to a brand new kind of brewery: Sociable Cider Werks, which focuses entirely on cider! Sold. I’m already impressed with our sheer number of tasty craft brewers. Here’s just one more reason to head out on the town.

Sports: 

And by sports, I really just mean the Olympics. For two weeks straight, I am looking forward to watching ice skaters, skiers, bobsledders, and every single person in a red, white, and blue uniform. USA! USA! USA!

Being a Spectator:

1381175_795862453505_553865678_nThis may sound like a bit of a cop-out, but I’m not an intense athlete. In fact, my summers are typically spent coming home from work and taking our dog Arnie for a walk. Emphasis on the word walk. That said, my partner in crime (Tom) has recently ventured into the world of half- (and maybe in the future full-) marathons. I never thought it’d be so much fun to cheer a runner on, but it is! I love it.

Happy 2014, everyone!

image sources: photo1 | photo2 photo3
Leave a Reply

