Food co-op, baby goat, kid, local food

RE-Post: Magical Organic Mystery Tour

The bus sat white and gleaming in the Cash Wise Foods parking lot. I quickly found a spot, as the lot was nearly empty at 7:45 a.m. on a Saturday morning.

Water bottle? Yup. Camera? Yup. Notebook? Yes, indeed. I gathered my stuff and sleepily walked over to my ride for the day. I didn’t know what to expect, but that was the point. I’d been invited to attend the Local Food Mystery Tour hosted by the Prairie Roots Food Co-op (PRFC) and Moorhead Community Ed.

Sunshine and the possibility of baby farm animals was all I needed – count me in! I took my seat and we slowly rolled into the Minnesota countryside.

Noreen Thomas, the organizer of the tour and a member of PRFC’s board, took to the microphone and let us know where our farm tour would take us.

Our first stop would be Native Harvest, where we would learn about maple syrup tapping. The second stop would be Karmakee Farm to visit some goats and last, we’d visit Bergeson Nursery to learn about planting trees of the north.

After Noreen’s announcement, I couldn’t help but feel the giddiness of a third-grader on a field trip.

*Visit one of my favorite local publications, The High Plains Reader, to read the rest of my foodie adventure. 

Leave a Reply

