She’s Gone Country

My friend Angie and I sat on the porch in the middle of a lazy summer day flipping through CD inserts. Angie gushed, “Look at this one!” There sat a photogenic Garth Brooks with his arm around a white stallion. “When I grow up and marry him, we’ll have lots of horses.” I countered with, “Well, when I marry him, we’ll live on 100 acres and have even more horses.” We fantasized the afternoon away, while his crooning guitar guided our thoughts.

That was 16 years ago and I still hold onto that affinity for Mr. Brooks. As the years went on, I continued to dabble in the twangy, steel sounds of country music – it was the perfect soundtrack for growing up in a small town (I’m pretty sure you can find that exact phrase in almost any country song). John Michael Montgomery got me through my Garth Brooks break up, Deena Carter got me through my first real breakup, and the Dixie Chicks carried me to college. I will say though, I didn’t strictly listen to this genre. During most of my teens, I bounced around punk-rock mosh pits with my dear friend Jac. We followed the band Something Corporate like Beatles groupies.

However, country songs were the undercurrent that encouraged my love of music. For this reason I’m taking the time to defend my taste for country music and explain why it can be great. Many of my friends (fiancé included) tell me they despise this genre, and they refuse to listen to my rebuttals. Instead, I’ll write about it – my arguments are usually much more convincing on paper.

First, for a little history …

According to the Country Music Hall of Fame, this style of music was first produced in the 1920s and came from America’s heartland. While plenty of people make fun of depressing country song lyrics, there’s a reason for the recurring theme of bad times. The 1930s were a time of devastation for the US, and the Wild West soon became a symbol of escaping and overcoming hard times. At the center of this idea was the ruggedly handsome cowboy. Who better to croon about hard times? The western cowboy stood for romance, bravery and self-sufficiency. If you haven’t seen the movie Crazy Heart, I highly recommend it. Ryan Bingham’s song from the movie, “The Weary Kind,” perfectly captures the country sentiment of getting through the heartaches and the trials of life. Elvis later introduced the rock and roll sound to country music, which was eventually labeled “the Nashville Sound.” While the genre took on new sounds, the good stuff still stays true to its fiddle and steel roots.

Many country songs take the listener to a better time, whether it’s through story-like lyrics or a song that’s attached to a memory. For me, that’s what country music, or any music, is all about. Good music is defined by the listener. Good music, at its core, is a feeling. A feeling that’s poured in at the creation of a song, emitted when it’s performed and felt with certainty by the listener. No matter the genre, good music moves you.

I don’t listen to a lot of country anymore; I’m not a huge fan of the over-produced “Nashville sound.” I like the old stuff because it brings me back to that unbeatable feeling of childhood. A time when the freedom of summer was never ending and I listened to music in hopes of being like Dad.

I’ll leave you with some lyrics that I feel embody the connection to a song and what it can inspire:

“Way back on the radio dial

A fire got lit inside a bright-eyed child

Every note just wrapped around his soul

From steel guitars to Memphis all the way to rock n roll

Ohh ohh I can hear em playing

I can hear the ringing of a beat up old guitar

Ohh ohh I can hear em singing

Keep on dreaming even if it breaks your heart”

– Eli Young Band, “Even if it Breaks Your Heart

So whatever the genre, pick up your iPod, CD or record and play the song that moves you. No explanations needed.

image source
image source

Leave a comment